22/10/2020

Philanthropy in the context of coronavirus

Natio­nal Day of Soli­da­rity. Soli­da­rity is the word of the moment. Coro­na­vi­rus has been the defi­ning force of 2020, hugely impac­ting every area of our lives. In the phil­an­thro­pic sector, nume­rous chari­ties and NGOs have been doing what they can to help. And the Swiss popu­la­tion has shown solidarity.

With the shor­ter, colder winter days, the number of cases is rising expo­nen­ti­ally. Coro­na­vi­rus is cree­ping back into our ever­y­day reality. It remains the domi­nant issue. In this context, nume­rous chari­ta­ble orga­ni­sa­ti­ons have mobi­li­sed to mini­mise the impact on people’s lives and coun­ter­act its nega­tive effects. The Swiss Soli­da­rity foun­da­tion called for a ‘Coro­na­vi­rus Inter­na­tio­nal’ Natio­nal Day of Soli­da­rity on 22 Octo­ber 2020. The charity was able to raise 4,016,886 francs. Swiss Soli­da­rity will use the money in colla­bo­ra­tion with its part­ner orga­ni­sa­ti­ons to help those who have been hit hardest by the pande­mic, in parti­cu­lar those in regi­ons wracked by war, natu­ral disa­sters and other crises. In the spring, Swiss Soli­da­rity succe­e­ded in raising 42,082,840 francs with the ‘Coro­na­vi­rus Switz­er­land’ appeal. Nume­rous other chari­ta­ble orga­ni­sa­ti­ons have been active in various capa­ci­ties throughout the crisis, too.

Emer­gency relief

In May, for example, the Chri­stoph Merian Stif­tung made one million francs avail­able for the cause. The money was dona­ted to part­ner insti­tu­ti­ons and project part­ners. The aim was to help provide emer­gency relief for the social and cultu­ral sectors in the face of the coro­na­vi­rus pande­mic. Anot­her support package of 450,000 francs follo­wed in June. The money for both funds came from the Chri­stoph Merian Stif­tung’s umbrella foun­da­tion. Stif­tung Merca­tor also reac­ted to the crisis. By early July, they had provi­ded 40 projects directly invol­ved in coro­na­vi­rus relief with a total of 1.2 million francs. In a call for papers, they began sear­ching for further projects ‘that addres­sed the lessons lear­ned from coro­na­vi­rus and initia­ted forward-looking deve­lo­p­ments for society and the envi­ron­ment’. In addi­tion, they ran an ideas lab in the autumn in which small teams deve­lo­ped solu­ti­ons for problems that the coro­na­vi­rus crisis had brought to the fore. 

Tack­ling the crisis together

The Z Zurich Foun­da­tion provi­ded funding of up to 20 million francs. The chari­ta­ble orga­ni­sa­tion belon­ging to the Zurich Insurance Group pled­ged this sum to support COVID-19 projects around the world. Fonda­tion Botnar provi­ded the same amount to fund inter­na­tio­nal rese­arch with the aim of impro­ving our scien­ti­fic under­stan­ding of COVID-19. In accordance with the Fonda­tion Botnar mission, the money will be inve­sted in new solu­ti­ons to build a better future for young people. The foun­da­tion supports these efforts by promo­ting the use of existing cutting-edge rese­arch faci­li­ties in Switzerland. 

More infor­ma­tion on Swiss­foun­da­ti­ons


Learn more about the umbrella foun­da­tion of the Chri­stoph Merian Foun­da­tion, the Stif­tung Merca­tor Switz­er­land, the Fonda­tion Botnar and the Z Zurich Foun­da­tion on stiftungschweiz.ch

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

StiftungSchweiz is committed to enabling a modern philanthropy that unites and excites people and has maximum impact with minimal time and effort.

Follow StiftungSchweiz on

The Philanthropist by subscribtion
Benefit now!

22.10.2020

Philanthropie in Zeiten von Corona

Natio­na­ler Soli­da­ri­täts­tag. Das Stich­wort der Stunde. Denn Corona prägt das Jahr 2020 massiv. In jeder Hinsicht. Im Phil­an­thro­pie-Sektor enga­gie­ren sich viele Stif­tun­gen und NGO im Rahmen ihrer Möglich­kei­ten. Und die Schwei­zer Bevöl­ke­rung zeigt sich solidarisch.

Mit den kürze­ren kälte­ren Tagen sind die Fall­zah­len wieder expo­nen­ti­ell ange­stie­gen. Das Coro­na­vi­rus ist zurück in unse­rer Alltags­rea­li­tät. Es bleibt das beherr­schende Thema. In dieser Situa­tion enga­gie­ren sich zahl­rei­che phil­an­thro­pi­sche Orga­ni­sa­tio­nen, um die Auswir­kun­gen auf das Leben der Menschen zu mindern, die Folgen abzu­fe­dern. Die Glücks­kette hat am 22. Okto­ber 2020 zum Natio­na­len Soli­da­ri­täts­tag «Coro­na­vi­rus Inter­na­tio­nal» aufge­ru­fen. 4’016’886 Fran­ken konnte die Stif­tung sammeln. Mit diesem Geld wird die Glücks­kette gemein­sam mit ihren Part­ner­hilfs­wer­ken jenen Menschen helfen, die beson­ders unter den Folgen der Pande­mie leiden. Dies sind insbe­son­dere Menschen in Regio­nen, die von Krisen, Krie­gen oder Natur­ka­ta­stro­phen bereits gezeich­net sind. Bereits im Früh­jahr konnte die Glücks­kette mit dem Soli­dar­täts­tag «Coro­na­vi­rus Schweiz» 42’082’840 Fran­ken sammeln. Zahl­rei­che weitere gemein­nüt­zige Orga­ni­sa­tio­nen sind in dieser Krise auf unter­schied­lich­ste Arten aktiv.

Not lindern

So stellte etwa bereits im März die Chri­stoph Merian Stif­tung eine Million Fran­ken bereit. Das Geld war bestimmt für ihre Part­ner­in­sti­tu­tio­nen und Projekt­par­ter. In den Berei­chen Sozia­les und Kultur sollte sie so die durch die Corona-Pande­mie ausge­lö­ste Not lindern helfen. Im Juni folgte ein zwei­tes Unter­stüt­zungs­pa­ket. Es umfasste 450’000 Fran­ken. Das Geld für beide Pakete stammt aus der Dach­stif­tung der Chri­stoph Merian Stif­tung. Auch die Merac­tor Stif­tung reagierte auf die Krise. Bis Anfangs Juli hatte sie bereits 40 Projek­ten, mit einem direk­ten Bezug zur Coro­na­krise, Unter­stüt­zung von insge­samt 1,2 Millio­nen Fran­ken zuge­sagt. Mit einem Call for Paper suchte sie nach weite­ren Projek­ten «die sich mit den Lehren aus Corona befas­sen und zukunfts­ori­en­tierte Entwick­lun­gen für Gesell­schaft und Umwelt anstos­sen.» Und im Ideen­la­bor entwickel­ten im Herbst kleine Teams Lösun­gen für ein Problem, das sie durch die Coro­na­krise erkannt haben. 

Gemein­sam durch die Krise

Den Betrag von bis zu 20 Millio­nen Fran­ken stellte die Z Zurich Foun­da­tion zur Verfü­gung. Die gemein­nüt­zige Stif­tung der Zurich Insurance Group sprach diesen Betrag, um welt­weit Covid-19-Hilfs­pro­jekte zu unter­stüt­zen. Densel­ben Betrag stellte die Fonda­tion Botnar bereit. Inter­na­tio­nale Forschungs­an­stren­gun­gen soll­ten von den Geldern profi­tie­ren können. Mit diesen soll das wissen­schaft­li­che Verständ­nis von Covid-19 geför­dert werden. Gemäss der Mission von Botnar soll das Geld in neue Lösun­gen inve­stiert werden, um für junge Menschen eine bessere Zukunft zu schaf­fen. Dabei unter­stützt die Stif­tung diese Bemü­hung in dem sie auf die Nutzung bestehen­der hoch­mo­der­ner Forschungs­ein­rich­tun­gen in der Schweiz setzt. 

Weitere Infor­ma­tion bietet Swiss­foun­da­ti­ons


Erfah­ren Sie mehr über die Dach­stif­tung der Chri­stoph Merian Stif­tung, die Stif­tung Merca­tor Schweiz, die Fonda­tion Botnar und die Z Zurich Foun­da­tion auf stiftungschweiz.ch

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

StiftungSchweiz engagiert sich für eine Philanthropie, die mit möglichst wenig Aufwand viel bewirkt, für alle sichtbar und erlebbar ist und Freude bereitet.

Follow StiftungSchweiz on

The Philanthropist im Abo
Jetzt profitieren!