22/10/2020

Philanthropy in the context of coronavirus

Natio­nal Day of Soli­da­rity. Soli­da­rity is the word of the moment. Coro­na­vi­rus has been the defi­ning force of 2020, hugely impac­ting every area of our lives. In the phil­an­thro­pic sector, nume­rous chari­ties and NGOs have been doing what they can to help. And the Swiss popu­la­tion has shown solidarity.

With the shor­ter, colder winter days, the number of cases is rising expo­nen­ti­ally. Coro­na­vi­rus is cree­ping back into our ever­y­day reality. It remains the domi­nant issue. In this context, nume­rous chari­ta­ble orga­ni­sa­ti­ons have mobi­li­sed to mini­mise the impact on people’s lives and coun­ter­act its nega­tive effects. The Swiss Soli­da­rity foun­da­tion called for a ‘Coro­na­vi­rus Inter­na­tio­nal’ Natio­nal Day of Soli­da­rity on 22 Octo­ber 2020. The charity was able to raise 4,016,886 francs. Swiss Soli­da­rity will use the money in colla­bo­ra­tion with its part­ner orga­ni­sa­ti­ons to help those who have been hit hardest by the pande­mic, in parti­cu­lar those in regi­ons wracked by war, natu­ral disa­sters and other crises. In the spring, Swiss Soli­da­rity succe­e­ded in raising 42,082,840 francs with the ‘Coro­na­vi­rus Switz­er­land’ appeal. Nume­rous other chari­ta­ble orga­ni­sa­ti­ons have been active in various capa­ci­ties throughout the crisis, too.

Emer­gency relief

In May, for example, the Chri­stoph Merian Stif­tung made one million francs avail­able for the cause. The money was dona­ted to part­ner insti­tu­ti­ons and project part­ners. The aim was to help provide emer­gency relief for the social and cultu­ral sectors in the face of the coro­na­vi­rus pande­mic. Anot­her support package of 450,000 francs follo­wed in June. The money for both funds came from the Chri­stoph Merian Stif­tung’s umbrella foun­da­tion. Stif­tung Merca­tor also reac­ted to the crisis. By early July, they had provi­ded 40 projects directly invol­ved in coro­na­vi­rus relief with a total of 1.2 million francs. In a call for papers, they began sear­ching for further projects ‘that addres­sed the lessons lear­ned from coro­na­vi­rus and initia­ted forward-looking deve­lo­p­ments for society and the envi­ron­ment’. In addi­tion, they ran an ideas lab in the autumn in which small teams deve­lo­ped solu­ti­ons for problems that the coro­na­vi­rus crisis had brought to the fore. 

Tack­ling the crisis together

The Z Zurich Foun­da­tion provi­ded funding of up to 20 million francs. The chari­ta­ble orga­ni­sa­tion belon­ging to the Zurich Insurance Group pled­ged this sum to support COVID-19 projects around the world. Fonda­tion Botnar provi­ded the same amount to fund inter­na­tio­nal rese­arch with the aim of impro­ving our scien­ti­fic under­stan­ding of COVID-19. In accordance with the Fonda­tion Botnar mission, the money will be inve­sted in new solu­ti­ons to build a better future for young people. The foun­da­tion supports these efforts by promo­ting the use of existing cutting-edge rese­arch faci­li­ties in Switzerland. 

More infor­ma­tion on Swiss­foun­da­ti­ons


Learn more about the umbrella foun­da­tion of the Chri­stoph Merian Foun­da­tion, the Stif­tung Merca­tor Switz­er­land, the Fonda­tion Botnar and the Z Zurich Foun­da­tion on stiftungschweiz.ch

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

StiftungSchweiz is committed to enabling a modern philanthropy that unites and excites people and has maximum impact with minimal time and effort.

Follow StiftungSchweiz on

The Philanthropist by subscribtion
Benefit now!

22.10.2020

La philanthropie à l’époque du coronavirus

Jour­née natio­nale de la soli­da­rité. Le mot-clé du moment. L’année 2020 a été forte­ment marquée par le coro­na­vi­rus. À tous les égards. Dans le secteur phil­an­thro­pi­que, de nombreu­ses fonda­ti­ons et ONG s’engagent dans la mesure de leurs possi­bi­li­tés. Et la popu­la­tion suisse se montre solidaire.

Le nombre de cas a crû de manière expo­nen­ti­elle au fur et à mesure que les tempé­ra­tures ont baissé. Le coro­na­vi­rus fait son retour dans nos quoti­di­ens. Il reste le sujet prédo­mi­nant, jour après jour. Face à cette situa­tion, de nombreu­ses orga­ni­sa­ti­ons phil­an­thro­pi­ques s’engagent afin de rédu­ire ses réper­cus­sions sur la vie des indi­vi­dus, d’en atté­nuer les consé­quen­ces. La Chaîne du Bonheur a lancé «Coro­na­vi­rus Inter­na­tio­nal» le 22 octobre 2020, à l’occasion de la jour­née natio­nale de la soli­da­rité. La fonda­tion a pu collec­ter 4 016 886 francs. Grâce à cet argent, la Chaîne du Bonheur et ses orga­ni­sa­ti­ons parten­aires vont pouvoir aider des indi­vi­dus sévè­re­ment affec­tés par la pandé­mie. Il est notam­ment question de person­nes qui vivent dans des régi­ons déjà touchées par des crises, des guer­res ou des cata­stro­phes natu­rel­les. Au prin­temps déjà, la Chaîne du Bonheur avait pu collec­ter 42 082 840 francs à l’occasion de la jour­née de la soli­da­rité «Coro­na­vi­rus Suisse». De nombreux autres orga­nis­mes de bien­faisance sont actifs, chacun à leur manière, face à cette crise.

Rédu­ire la détresse

Ainsi, la fonda­tion Chri­stoph Merian a mis un million de francs à dispo­si­tion en mars dernier. L’argent était destiné à ses parten­aires insti­tu­ti­on­nels et de projet. Ceux-ci aident à rédu­ire la détresse entraî­née par la pandé­mie de coro­na­vi­rus dans les domai­nes du social et de la culture. En juin, le soutien a été réitéré, à haut­eur de 450 000 francs cette fois. Les deux fois, l’argent prove­nait de la fonda­tion faîtière de la fonda­tion Chri­stoph Merian La fonda­tion Merac­tor a elle aussi réagi à la crise. Jusqu’au début du mois de juil­let, elle avait déjà promis à 40 projets en lien direct avec la crise du coro­na­vi­rus un soutien à haut­eur de 1,2 million de francs au total. Avec un appel à papiers, elle a cher­ché d’autres projets «qui se penchent sur les enseig­ne­ments à tirer du coro­na­vi­rus et qui mettent en œuvre des solu­ti­ons tour­nées vers l’avenir pour la société et l’environnement.» Par ailleurs, à l’automne, de peti­tes équi­pes ont élaboré des solu­ti­ons pour un problème dont ils ont pris consci­ence lors de la crise du coronavirus. 

Ensem­ble face à la crise

La fonda­tion Z Zurich a mis à dispo­si­tion un montant allant jusqu’à 20 milli­ons de francs. La fonda­tion d’utilité publi­que du Zurich Insurance Group a cons­acré ce montant afin d’apporter un soutien aux projets d’aide face au Covid-19 dans le monde entier. La fonda­tion Botnar a elle aussi mis le même montant à dispo­si­tion. Les efforts de recher­che inter­na­tion­aux devrai­ent profi­ter de cet argent. Ceci devrait permettre d’aider à mieux comprendre le Covid-19. D’après la mission de Botnar, l’argent devrait être inve­sti dans de nouvel­les solu­ti­ons afin de créer un meil­leur avenir pour les jeunes. Ainsi, la fonda­tion souti­ent cet effort en s’appuyant sur les centres de recher­che ultra-moder­nes qui existent à l’heure actu­elle en Suisse. 

Vous trou­ve­rez plus d’informations à l’adresse www.swissfoundations.ch/covid-19/


Pour en savoir plus sur la fonda­tion faîtière de la Fonda­tion Chri­stoph Merian, la Fonda­tion Merca­tor Suisse, la Fonda­tion Botnar et la Fonda­tion Z Zurich, consul­tez le site stiftungschweiz.ch

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

StiftungSchweiz encourage une philanthropie qui atteint plus avec moins de moyens, qui est visible et perceptible par tous, et qui apporte de la joie.

Suivez StiftungSchweiz sur

The Philanthropist par abonnement
Profitez-en maintenant !