100

Epitome of genius

It is the 100th anni­ver­s­ary of his Nobel Prize: Albert Einstein was awar­ded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1921.

With E = mc2, he wrote what might be the world’s best-known formula. With the theory of rela­ti­vity, he revo­lu­tio­nised the meaning of time and space and arti­cu­la­ted a theory that ever­yone has heard of, though very few people under­stand. But Albert Einstein didn’t win the Nobel Prize for the theory of rela­ti­vity. Instead, he recei­ved it in 1921 ‘for his services to theo­re­ti­cal physics, and espe­cially for his disco­very of the law of the photo­elec­tric effect’. He wrote this paper in 1905, a year in which he wrote five ground­brea­king papers, inclu­ding the one on special rela­ti­vity. ETH’s online biogra­phy of Einstein says that 1905 was an annus mira­bi­lis for him. One striking fact about this achie­ve­ment is that he wrote these papers in his spare time: his day job was at the Swiss Patent Office in Bern.

An uneven career path

The reason that Einstein was not conduc­ting his rese­arch at a univer­sity at that time was due to his perfor­mance as a student at the Poly­tech­ni­kum in Zurich (as ETH Zurich was known then). He hardly atten­ded any of his ‘Physics prac­ti­cal course for begin­ners’ lectures and recei­ved a ‘fail’ mark. He did manage to graduate with a diploma, but he was the only one of the five gradua­tes who didn’t secure an assi­stantship. His papers in 1905 helped him to turn back towards a univer­sity career path. After posi­ti­ons at the Univer­sity of Zurich and the Univer­sity of Prague, he finally found his way back to ETH – though not for long. He only stayed for one and a half years, though he did formu­late the first draft of the gene­ral theory of rela­ti­vity during this time. He then moved to Berlin and the Prus­sian Academy of Scien­ces. After the Nazis rose to power in 1933, he emigra­ted to the US and took on a posi­tion at Prince­ton Univer­sity in New Jersey, where he stayed for the rest of his career.

Today, Albert Einstein is synony­mous with genius. Wiki­pe­dia calls him one of the grea­test physi­cists of all time, and ETH acknow­led­ges him as its most famous alum­nus. There is a cafe­te­ria at ETH called Einstein & Zwei­stein, and various origi­nal docu­ments in the posses­sion of ETH Zurich – and viewa­ble online – testify to his achie­ve­ments while in Zurich. There will be anot­her high­light at the end of Septem­ber: a very special kind of meet and greet. Albert Einstein – or at least a digi­tal version of him – will be present at ETH’s main buil­ding in Zurich and avail­able for conver­sa­tion. He might then be able to answer your questi­ons about time and space…

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

StiftungSchweiz is committed to enabling a modern philanthropy that unites and excites people and has maximum impact with minimal time and effort.

Follow StiftungSchweiz on

The Philanthropist by subscribtion
Benefit now!

100

Inbegriff eines Genies

Es ist das 100-Jahr-Jubi­läum seines Nobel­prei­ses: Albert Einstein wurde der Nobel­preis für Physik für das Jahr 1921 zugesprochen. 

Mit E = mc2  hat er die wohl bekann­te­ste Formel der Welt geschrie­ben. Mit der Rela­ti­vi­täts­theo­rie hat er die Bedeu­tung von Raum und Zeit revo­lu­tio­niert und eine Theo­rie gelie­fert, die alle kennen und nur die wenig­stens verste­hen. Doch den Nobel­preis erhielt Albert Einstein nicht für die Rela­ti­vi­täts­theo­rie. Statt­des­sen wurde ihm der Nobel­preis des Jahres 1921 «für seine Verdien­ste um die theo­re­ti­sche Physik und insbe­son­dere für seine Entdeckung des Geset­zes des photo­elek­tri­schen Effekts» zuge­spro­chen. Geschrie­ben hatte er diese Arbeit im Jahr 1905. Insge­samt fünf bedeu­tende Arbei­ten schrieb er in diesem Jahr. Dazu gehörte die spezi­elle Rela­ti­vi­täts­theo­rie. In der Online-Biogra­fie der ETH heisst es denn: «Das Jahr 1905 wurde für Einstein zum ‹annus mira­bi­lis›». Spezi­ell an dieser Leistung ist insbe­son­dere, dass er diese Arbei­ten in seiner Frei­zeit schrieb. Ange­stellt war er in diesen Jahren beim Patent­amt in Bern.

Keine gerad­li­nige Laufbahn

Dass Einstein zu dieser Zeit nicht an einer Univer­si­tät forschte, lag an seinen Leistun­gen als Student am Poly­tech­ni­kum in Zürich, wie die ETH damals hiess. So war er in den Vorle­sun­gen «Physi­ka­li­sches Prak­ti­kum für Anfän­ger» kaum präsent und erhielt dafür die Note 1. Er schloss sein Studium zwar mit einem Diplom ab, er war aber der einzige der fünf Diplo­man­den, der keine Assi­stenz­stelle erhielt. Mit seinen Arbei­ten von 1905 fand er den Weg zurück auf die univer­si­täre Lauf­bahn. Über die Univer­si­tä­ten Zürich und Prag gelangte er schliess­lich zurück an die ETH. Ein Zwischen­halt. Er blieb nur 1,5 Jahre, doch formu­lierte er in dieser Zeit den ersten Entwurf der allge­mei­nen Rela­ti­vi­täts­theo­rie. Schon bald  folgte er dem Ruf nach Berlin an die Preus­si­sche Akade­mie der Wissen­schaf­ten. Nach der Macht­über­nahme durch die Natio­nal­so­zia­li­sten 1933 wanderte er in die USA aus und forschte fortan an der Prince­ton Univer­sity in New Jersey.

Heute gilt Albert Einstein als der Inbe­griff eines Genies. Wiki­pe­dia bezeich­net ihn als welt­weit bekann­te­sten Wissen­schaft­ler der Neuzeit und die ETH als ihren wohl berühm­te­sten Alum­nus. Eine Cafe­te­ria an der ETH heisst Einstein & Zwei­stein und diverse online einseh­bare Origi­nal­do­ku­mente im Besitz der ETH zeugen von seinem Wirken in Zürich. Ein weite­res High­light gibt es ab Ende Septem­ber: ein Meet-and-Greet der beson­de­ren Art. Eine Unter­hal­tung mit Albert Einstein, respek­tive seinem digi­ta­len Alter Ego, wird im ETH-Haupt­ge­bäude in Zürich möglich sein. Viel­leicht kann er Ihnen dann Ihre Fragen zu Raum und Zeit beantworten … 

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

StiftungSchweiz engagiert sich für eine Philanthropie, die mit möglichst wenig Aufwand viel bewirkt, für alle sichtbar und erlebbar ist und Freude bereitet.

Follow StiftungSchweiz on

The Philanthropist im Abo
Jetzt profitieren!