100

Epitome of genius

It is the 100th anni­ver­s­ary of his Nobel Prize: Albert Einstein was awar­ded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1921.

With E = mc2, he wrote what might be the world’s best-known formula. With the theory of rela­ti­vity, he revo­lu­tio­nised the meaning of time and space and arti­cu­la­ted a theory that ever­yone has heard of, though very few people under­stand. But Albert Einstein didn’t win the Nobel Prize for the theory of rela­ti­vity. Instead, he recei­ved it in 1921 ‘for his services to theo­re­ti­cal physics, and espe­cially for his disco­very of the law of the photo­elec­tric effect’. He wrote this paper in 1905, a year in which he wrote five ground­brea­king papers, inclu­ding the one on special rela­ti­vity. ETH’s online biogra­phy of Einstein says that 1905 was an annus mira­bi­lis for him. One striking fact about this achie­ve­ment is that he wrote these papers in his spare time: his day job was at the Swiss Patent Office in Bern.

An uneven career path

The reason that Einstein was not conduc­ting his rese­arch at a univer­sity at that time was due to his perfor­mance as a student at the Poly­tech­ni­kum in Zurich (as ETH Zurich was known then). He hardly atten­ded any of his ‘Physics prac­ti­cal course for begin­ners’ lectures and recei­ved a ‘fail’ mark. He did manage to graduate with a diploma, but he was the only one of the five gradua­tes who didn’t secure an assi­stantship. His papers in 1905 helped him to turn back towards a univer­sity career path. After posi­ti­ons at the Univer­sity of Zurich and the Univer­sity of Prague, he finally found his way back to ETH – though not for long. He only stayed for one and a half years, though he did formu­late the first draft of the gene­ral theory of rela­ti­vity during this time. He then moved to Berlin and the Prus­sian Academy of Scien­ces. After the Nazis rose to power in 1933, he emigra­ted to the US and took on a posi­tion at Prince­ton Univer­sity in New Jersey, where he stayed for the rest of his career.

Today, Albert Einstein is synony­mous with genius. Wiki­pe­dia calls him one of the grea­test physi­cists of all time, and ETH acknow­led­ges him as its most famous alum­nus. There is a cafe­te­ria at ETH called Einstein & Zwei­stein, and various origi­nal docu­ments in the posses­sion of ETH Zurich – and viewa­ble online – testify to his achie­ve­ments while in Zurich. There will be anot­her high­light at the end of Septem­ber: a very special kind of meet and greet. Albert Einstein – or at least a digi­tal version of him – will be present at ETH’s main buil­ding in Zurich and avail­able for conver­sa­tion. He might then be able to answer your questi­ons about time and space…

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

StiftungSchweiz is committed to enabling a modern philanthropy that unites and excites people and has maximum impact with minimal time and effort.

Follow StiftungSchweiz on

The Philanthropist by subscribtion
Benefit now!

100

Inbegriff eines Genies

Centen­aire du prix Nobel d’Albert Einstein: il avait obtenu le prix Nobel de physi­que en 1921.

E = mc2 est certai­ne­ment la formule la plus célèbre au monde. En rédi­ge­ant sa théo­rie de la rela­ti­vité, Einstein a révo­lu­ti­onné le sens de l’espace et du temps et fourni une théo­rie connue de tous mais comprise d’une mino­rité seule­ment. Mais Albert Einstein n’a pas reçu le prix Nobel unique­ment pour sa théo­rie de la rela­ti­vité. Celui-ci lui a en effet été attri­bué en 1921 «pour ses méri­tes dans le domaine de la physi­que théo­ri­que et notam­ment sa décou­verte de la loi de l’effet photoélec­tri­que». Il avait rédigé ce travail en 1905, année au cours de laquelle il avait rédigé cinq travaux majeurs au total, dont sa théo­rie de la rela­ti­vité rest­reinte. Voici ce qu’on peut lire dans sa biogra­phie en ligne de l’EPFZ: «L’année 1905 fut pour Einstein un ‹annus mira­bi­lis›». Ce qui distin­gue parti­cu­liè­re­ment ces travaux, c’est qu’il les a rédi­gés pendant son temps libre. Il était en effet employé au bureau des brevets de Berne à l’époque.

Une carri­ère atypique

Les résul­tats univer­si­taires d’Einstein à l’institut poly­tech­ni­que de Zurich (l’EPFZ actu­elle) expli­quent qu’il n’effectuait pas de recher­ches dans le cadre d’une univer­sité: il séchait en effet quasi­ment systé­ma­ti­que­ment les cours de «stage de physi­que pour débu­tants», ce qui lui valut la note de 1. Il réus­sit certes à obtenir son diplôme de fin d’études, mais fut le seul des cinq jeunes diplô­més à ne pas obtenir de poste d’assistant. Ses travaux de 1905 lui permi­rent de renouer avec sa carri­ère univer­si­taire. Après être passé par les univer­si­tés de Zurich et de Prague, il retourna fina­le­ment à l’EPFZ. Une étape inter­mé­di­aire. Il n’y resta que 18 mois, mais formula pendant cette péri­ode le premier jet de sa théo­rie de la rela­ti­vité géné­rale. Il répon­dit peu après à l’appel de l’Académie prus­si­enne des scien­ces de Berlin. Après l’arrivée au pouvoir des nazis en 1933, il s’exila aux USA et pour­sui­vit ses recher­ches à la Prince­ton Univer­sity de New Jersey.

Aujourd’hui, Albert Einstein est considéré comme un génie par excel­lence. Wiki­pe­dia le dépeint comme le scien­ti­fi­que des temps moder­nes le plus connu au monde, et l’EPFZ comme son plus célèbre ancien élève. Une café­té­ria de l’EPFZ s’appelle Einstein & Zwei­stein, et différents docu­ments origin­aux en posses­sion de l’EPFZ consul­ta­bles en ligne témoig­n­ent de son acti­vité à Zurich. Un autre temps fort attend le public à partir de la fin septembre: une rencontre pas comme les autres. Un entre­tien avec Albert Einstein, ou plutôt avec son alter ego numé­ri­que, aura lieu dans le bâti­ment princi­pal de l’EPFZ à Zurich. Peut-être pourra-t-il répondre à vos questi­ons sur l’espace et le temps…

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

StiftungSchweiz encourage une philanthropie qui atteint plus avec moins de moyens, qui est visible et perceptible par tous, et qui apporte de la joie.

Suivez StiftungSchweiz sur

The Philanthropist par abonnement
Profitez-en maintenant !