46,800,000,000

The world’s biggest charity has 46.8 billion dollars in the bank – half as much as every charitable organisation in Switzerland put together. Let’s put that into perspective.

The Bill and Melinda Gates Foun­da­tion is the world’s largest private foun­da­tion. Accord­ing to the charity’s facts­heet, its wealth amoun­ted to 46.8 billion dollars in 2018. Wiki­pe­dia states that spots two and three are held by the UK’s Well­come Trust, with 26 billion euros in 2018, follo­wed by the Open Society Foun­da­ti­ons (OSF). This group of chari­ties crea­ted by the philanthropist and inve­stor Geor­ges Soros has around 18 billion dollars at its dispo­sal. They campaign for demo­cracy and support civil society initia­ti­ves across 120 coun­tries. The Well­come Trust was foun­ded by the phar­macist, busi­ness­man and philanthropist Sir Henry Well­come. This charity supports projects focu­sed on health­care rese­arch, while the globally active Bill and Melinda Gates Foun­da­tion aims to improve health­care provi­sion. In addi­tion, the Foun­da­tion advo­ca­tes for access to educa­tion and tech­no­logy and is working to eradi­cate poverty. All told, the three biggest chari­ties in the world have assets of more than 90 billion Swiss francs. As a compa­ri­son, in 2018 CEPS showed that Switzerland’s 13,000 or so chari­ties had assets of around 100 billion Swiss francs.

A compa­ri­son 

On average, each charity in Switz­er­land mana­ges assets of 8.2 million Swiss francs. This makes the Bill and Melinda Gates Foun­da­tion 5,700 times larger than the average Swiss charity, and even bigger than the guaran­tees provi­ded by the Swiss Confe­de­ra­tion during the coro­na­vi­rus crisis, which the Federal Coun­cil incre­a­sed to 40 billion Swiss francs on 3 April. Howe­ver, the Foun­da­tion doesn’t quite have enough to give America a helping hand: by the end of July, the US stimu­lus package total­led three billion dollars. And so we’re clear, Micro­soft had a market cap of around 1.5 billion dollars (1,500,000,000,000) at the end of July 2020.

Dyna­mic and diverse 

Chari­ties in Switz­er­land are smal­ler, with 80 percent having assets of less than five million Swiss francs in 2018. That said, this diverse sector is shaped by dyna­mic deve­lo­p­ments. The 2020 Stif­tungs­re­port showed that 349 chari­ties had been foun­ded in the past year, and 70 percent of the 13,293 chari­ta­ble orga­ni­sa­ti­ons had been foun­ded in the last 30 years. There are 15.6 chari­ties for every 10,000 resi­dents in Switz­er­land, with the canton of Basel being the most densely packed with chari­ties, at 45 per 10,000 resi­dents, and Aargau the least, at 7.0.

StiftungSchweiz is committed to enabling a modern philanthropy that unites and excites people and has maximum impact with minimal time and effort.

Follow StiftungSchweiz on

The Philanthropist by subscribtion
Benefit now!

46’800’000’000

Die weltweit grösste Stiftung verfügt über 46,8 Milliarden Dollar – damit ist ihr Vermögen halb so gross wie jenes aller gemeinnützigen Stiftungen in der Schweiz zusammen. Eine Einordnung.

Es ist die grösste private Stif­tung welt­weit: die Bill und Melinda Gates Foun­da­tion. Im Jahr 2018 umfasste das Stif­tungs­ver­mö­gen gemäss dem Stif­tungs­facts­heet 46,8 Milli­ar­den Dollars. Wiki­pe­dia führt auf den Plät­zen zwei und drei den briti­schen Well­come Trust, mit einem Vermö­gen von 26 Milli­ar­den Euro im Jahr 2018, gefolgt von den Open Society Foun­da­ti­ons (OSF). Diese Gruppe von Stif­tun­gen des Phil­an­throp und Inve­stor Geor­ges Soros verfügt über rund 18 Milli­ar­den Dollar. Sie setz­ten sich für Demo­kra­tie ein und unter­stütz­ten in 120 Ländern Initia­ti­ven der Zivil­ge­sell­schaft. Der Well­come Trust wurde vom Phar­ma­zeu­ten, Unter­neh­mer und Phil­an­thro­pen Sir Henry Well­come gegrün­det. Diese Stif­tung unter­stützt Projekte in der Gesund­heits­for­schung während die welt­weit agie­rende Bill und Melinda Gates Foun­da­tion die Gesund­heits­ver­sor­gung verbes­sern will. Die Foun­da­tion setzt sich zudem für den Zugang zu Bildung und Tech­no­lo­gie ein und ist in der Armuts­be­kämp­fung enga­giert. Zusam­men­ge­nom­men verfü­gen die drei gröss­ten Stif­tun­gen welt­weit über ein Vermö­gen von über 90 Milli­ar­den Fran­ken. Zum Vergleich: Für die Schweiz wies das CEPS im Jahr 2018 für die rund 13’000 Stif­tung ein Vermö­gen von insge­samt knapp 100 Milli­ar­den Fran­ken aus. 

Ein Vergleich 

Eine gemein­nüt­zige Stif­tung in der Schweiz verwal­tete im Schnitt eine Bilanz­summe von 8,2 Millio­nen Fran­ken. Die Bill und Melinda Gates Stif­tung ist damit 5700 Mal so gross wie eine durch­schnitt­li­che Stif­tung in der Schweiz. Mit ihrem Stif­tungs­ver­mö­gen über­trifft die grösste Stif­tung auch bspw. die Bürg­schaf­ten des Bundes in der Coro­na­krise in der Schweiz: Am 3. April hatte der Bundes­rat diese auf 40 Milli­ar­den Fran­ken erhöht. Für die Hilfe in Amerika reicht dieses Stif­tungs­ver­mö­gen jedoch nicht. Das US-Konjunk­tur­pro­gramm umfasste Ende Juli drei Billio­nen Dollar. Zum Verständ­nis: Das Unter­neh­men Micro­soft erreichte Ende Juli 2020 eine Markt­ka­pi­ta­li­sie­rung von rund 1,5 Billio­nen Dollar (1’500’000’000’000). 

Dyna­misch und vielfältig

Die Stif­tun­gen in der Schweiz sind klei­ner  – 80 Prozent wiesen 2018 ein Vermö­gen von weni­ger als fünf Millio­nen Fran­ken aus. Doch der viel­fäl­tige Sektor zeich­net sich durch eine dyna­mi­sche Entwick­lung aus. Der Stif­tungs­re­port 2020 verzeich­net für das vergan­gene Jahr 349 neu gegrün­dete Stif­tun­gen. 70 Prozent der 13’293 gemein­nüt­zi­gen Stif­tun­gen wurden in den vergan­ge­nen 30 Jahren gegrün­det. 15,6 Stif­tun­gen kommen auf 10’000 Einwoh­ner in der Schweiz. Mit 45 ist die Stif­tungs­dichte im Kanton Basel am höch­sten und im Aargau mit 7,0 am tiefsten.

StiftungSchweiz engagiert sich für eine Philanthropie, die mit möglichst wenig Aufwand viel bewirkt, für alle sichtbar und erlebbar ist und Freude bereitet.

Follow StiftungSchweiz on

The Philanthropist im Abo
Jetzt profitieren!