46,800,000,000

The world’s biggest charity has 46.8 billion dollars in the bank – half as much as every charitable organisation in Switzerland put together. Let’s put that into perspective.

The Bill and Melinda Gates Foun­da­tion is the world’s largest private foun­da­tion. Accord­ing to the charity’s facts­heet, its wealth amoun­ted to 46.8 billion dollars in 2018. Wiki­pe­dia states that spots two and three are held by the UK’s Well­come Trust, with 26 billion euros in 2018, follo­wed by the Open Society Foun­da­ti­ons (OSF). This group of chari­ties crea­ted by the philanthropist and inve­stor Geor­ges Soros has around 18 billion dollars at its dispo­sal. They campaign for demo­cracy and support civil society initia­ti­ves across 120 coun­tries. The Well­come Trust was foun­ded by the phar­macist, busi­ness­man and philanthropist Sir Henry Well­come. This charity supports projects focu­sed on health­care rese­arch, while the globally active Bill and Melinda Gates Foun­da­tion aims to improve health­care provi­sion. In addi­tion, the Foun­da­tion advo­ca­tes for access to educa­tion and tech­no­logy and is working to eradi­cate poverty. All told, the three biggest chari­ties in the world have assets of more than 90 billion Swiss francs. As a compa­ri­son, in 2018 CEPS showed that Switzerland’s 13,000 or so chari­ties had assets of around 100 billion Swiss francs.

A compa­ri­son 

On average, each charity in Switz­er­land mana­ges assets of 8.2 million Swiss francs. This makes the Bill and Melinda Gates Foun­da­tion 5,700 times larger than the average Swiss charity, and even bigger than the guaran­tees provi­ded by the Swiss Confe­de­ra­tion during the coro­na­vi­rus crisis, which the Federal Coun­cil incre­a­sed to 40 billion Swiss francs on 3 April. Howe­ver, the Foun­da­tion doesn’t quite have enough to give America a helping hand: by the end of July, the US stimu­lus package total­led three billion dollars. And so we’re clear, Micro­soft had a market cap of around 1.5 billion dollars (1,500,000,000,000) at the end of July 2020.

Dyna­mic and diverse 

Chari­ties in Switz­er­land are smal­ler, with 80 percent having assets of less than five million Swiss francs in 2018. That said, this diverse sector is shaped by dyna­mic deve­lo­p­ments. The 2020 Stif­tungs­re­port showed that 349 chari­ties had been foun­ded in the past year, and 70 percent of the 13,293 chari­ta­ble orga­ni­sa­ti­ons had been foun­ded in the last 30 years. There are 15.6 chari­ties for every 10,000 resi­dents in Switz­er­land, with the canton of Basel being the most densely packed with chari­ties, at 45 per 10,000 resi­dents, and Aargau the least, at 7.0.

StiftungSchweiz is committed to enabling a modern philanthropy that unites and excites people and has maximum impact with minimal time and effort.

Follow StiftungSchweiz on

The Philanthropist by subscribtion
Benefit now!

46 800 000 000

La plus grande fondation du monde dispose de plus de 46,8 milliards de dollars – sa fortune est donc équivalente à la moitié de celle de toutes les fondations d’utilité publique de Suisse réunies. Voici le classement.

C’est la plus grande fonda­tion privée du monde: il s’agit de la Bill and Melinda Gates Foun­da­tion. Selon les infor­ma­ti­ons publiées sur le site de la fonda­tion, sa fortune s’élevait à 46,8 milli­ards de dollars en 2018. Wiki­pe­dia place la fonda­tion britan­ni­que Well­come Trust en deuxi­ème posi­tion, avec une fortune de 26 milli­ards d’euros en 2018, suivie d’Open Society Foun­da­ti­ons (OSF). Ce groupe de fonda­ti­ons du phil­an­thrope et inve­stis­seur Geor­ges Soros est doté de près de 18 milli­ards de dollars. Il se mobi­lise en faveur de la démo­cra­tie et souti­ent des initia­ti­ves de la société civile dans 120 pays. Le Well­come Trust a été créé par le phar­macien, entre­pre­neur et phil­an­thrope Sir Henry Well­come. Cette fonda­tion souti­ent des projets de recher­che médi­cale, tandis que la Bill and Melinda Gates Foun­da­tion, active dans le monde entier, entend amélio­rer les soins de santé. Cette dernière se mobi­lise aussi pour l’accès à l’éducation et à la tech­no­lo­gie et s’engage dans la lutte contre la pauvreté. Ensem­ble, les trois plus gran­des fonda­ti­ons du monde dispo­sent d’une fortune de plus de 90 milli­ards de francs. À titre de compa­rai­son: le CEPS indi­quait en 2018 que les quel­que 13 000 fonda­ti­ons suis­ses étai­ent dotées d’un patri­moine de près de 100 milli­ards de francs au total.

Compa­rai­son

Toujours en 2018, le bilan moyen d’une fonda­tion d’utilité publi­que en Suisse s’élevait à 8,2 milli­ons de francs. La Bill and Melinda Gates Foun­da­tion est donc 5700 fois plus grande qu’une fonda­tion moyenne en Suisse. Avec son patri­moine, la plus grande fonda­tion du monde dépasse par exemple le volume des cauti­on­ne­ments octroyés par la Confé­dé­ra­tion durant la crise du coro­na­vi­rus: le 3 avril, le Conseil fédé­ral avait relevé ce montant à 40 milli­ards de francs. Toute­fois, la fortune de la fonda­tion ne suffi­rait pas à aider l’Amérique: fin juil­let, le plan de relance des États-Unis se montait à trois billi­ons de dollars. Pour bien comprendre: l’entreprise Micro­soft atteignait à la fin juil­let 2020 une capi­ta­li­sa­tion bour­sière d’environ 1,5 billion de dollars (1 500 000 000 000).

Un secteur dyna­mi­que et varié

Les fonda­ti­ons de Suisse sont plus peti­tes – en 2018, 80% d’entre elles dispo­sai­ent d’un patri­moine infé­ri­eur à cinq milli­ons de francs. Mais le secteur empreint de diver­sité se distin­gue par une évolu­tion dyna­mi­que. Le rapport sur les fonda­ti­ons 2020 enre­gistre 349 fonda­ti­ons nouvel­lement créées pour l’année passée. 70% des 13 293 fonda­ti­ons d’utilité publi­que ont été fondées ces 30 derniè­res années. Par ailleurs, la Suisse compte en moyenne 15,6 fonda­ti­ons pour 10 000 habi­tants. Avec 45 fonda­ti­ons pour 10 000 habi­tants, le canton de Bâle est celui qui présente la plus grande densité de fonda­ti­ons, tandis que le canton d’Argovie est en bas du clas­se­ment avec 7,0 fonda­ti­ons pour 10 000 habi­tants.

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

StiftungSchweiz encourage une philanthropie qui atteint plus avec moins de moyens, qui est visible et perceptible par tous, et qui apporte de la joie.

Suivez StiftungSchweiz sur

The Philanthropist par abonnement
Profitez-en maintenant !