1000

Sustainable and profitable

1,000 solu­ti­ons wanted, 1,000 solu­ti­ons found: the Solar Impulse Foun­da­tion foun­ded by Bert­rand Piccard sear­ched for 1,000 approa­ches against climate change.

There’s not just one solu­tion, but 1,000. Four years ago, Bert­rand Piccard and his initia­tive, the Solar Impulse Foun­da­tion, star­ted an appeal. They sear­ched for 1,000 tech­no­lo­gi­cal solu­ti­ons that could contri­bute toward reaching climate goals. And this has now been achie­ved: ‘We’ve achie­ved our goal of finding 1,000 solu­ti­ons. These comprise tech­no­lo­gies from both small and large compa­nies across the world,’ explains Bert­rand Piccard, adding: ‘but our jour­ney isn’t over yet.’

Pionee­ring spirit

The jour­ney star­ted long before the appeal. Bert­rand Piccard has dedi­ca­ted his life to solving ecolo­gi­cal chal­len­ges. His mission? He wants to show­case the oppor­tu­nities that arise from sustainable deve­lo­p­ment. Explo­ring new hori­zons to do so is in his DNA. His grand­f­a­ther, Augu­ste Piccard, was the first person to fly into the stra­to­s­phere in a balloon. His father, Jacques Piccard, rese­ar­ched the deep sea, which saw him diving deeper into the Mariana Trench than anyone had before. He dedi­ca­ted his work to protec­ting the oceans and seas. With his pionee­ring acts, Bert­rand Piccard has joined the family tradi­tion. He was the first person to circum­na­vi­gate the globe non-stop in a hot air balloon. He also succe­e­ded in being the first person to fly around the world in a solar aircraft. In order to realise this project, he foun­ded the Solar Impulse Foun­da­tion in 2003. The round-the-world stages star­ted in 2015, and were success­fully comple­ted the follo­wing year.

Appeal

In 2017, the foun­da­tion laun­ched the appeal for 1,000 solu­ti­ons. These should posi­tively influ­ence climate change, and also be viable. Solu­ti­ons that meet the foundation’s requi­re­ments are awar­ded with a label. Inde­pen­dent experts audit the solu­ti­ons in order to award the label. The 1,000 solu­ti­ons that have since been certi­fied come from 67 coun­tries. They contri­bute to solving ecolo­gi­cal chal­len­ges in the areas of water, energy, construc­tion, mobi­lity, indu­stry and agri­cul­ture. Bert­rand Piccard says: ‘We’ve proven that there are nume­rous solu­ti­ons that can already sustainably and effi­ci­ently shape our world, in a profi­ta­ble way. Now we have to ensure that governments and compa­nies start to imple­ment tech­no­lo­gies suited to their situa­tions.’ A digi­tal data­base, called a ‘Solu­tion Guide’, is being deve­lo­ped for this purpose. It will offer the oppor­tu­nity to search for a suita­ble solu­tion, while also sugge­sting other solu­ti­ons at the same time. There are not just 1,000 solu­ti­ons. There are more. It’s time to use them.

Read the inter­view with Bert­rand Piccard on thephilanthropist.ch.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

StiftungSchweiz is committed to enabling a modern philanthropy that unites and excites people and has maximum impact with minimal time and effort.

Follow StiftungSchweiz on

The Philanthropist by subscribtion
Benefit now!

1000

Nachhaltig und rentabel

1000 Lösun­gen gesucht, 1000 Lösun­gen gefun­den: Die Stif­tung Solar Impulse von Bert­rand Piccard suchte 1000 Ansätze gegen den Klimawandel.

Es gibt nicht die eine Lösung – aber 1000. Vor vier Jahren haben Bert­rand Piccard und die von ihm initi­ierte Stif­tung Solar Impulse einen Aufruf gestar­tet. Sie such­ten nach 1000 Tech­no­lo­gie­lö­sun­gen, die zur Errei­chung der Klima­ziele beitra­gen. Das ist nun geschafft: «Wir haben unser Ziel, 1000 Lösun­gen zu finden, erreicht. Diese umfas­sen Tech­no­lo­gien klei­ner und gros­ser Unter­neh­men welt­weit», sagt Bert­rand Piccard und fügt an, «aber unsere Reise ist noch nicht zu Ende.» 

Pionier­geist

Begon­nen hat die Reise schon lange vor dem Aufruf. Bert­rand Piccard hat sein Leben dem Lösen ökolo­gi­scher Heraus­for­de­run­gen verschrie­ben. Seine Mission: Er will die Chan­cen einer nach­hal­ti­gen Entwick­lung aufzei­gen. Dass er dabei neue Wege geht, liegt in seiner DNA. Sein Gross­va­ter Augu­ste Piccard flog mit einem Ballon als erster Mensch in die Stra­to­sphäre. Vater Jacques Piccard erforschte die Tief­see. Dabei tauchte er im Maria­nen­gra­ben so tief wie kein Mensch zuvor. Er widmete seine Arbeit dem Schutz der Meere und Seen. Mit seinen Pionier­ta­ten reihte sich Bert­rand Piccard in diese Fami­li­en­tra­di­tion ein. Als erster Mensch umrun­dete er die Welt mit einem Heiss­luft­bal­lon in einem Nonstop-Flug. Ebenso gelang ihm, als Erster die Erde mit einem Solar­flug­zeug zu umrun­den. Um dieses Projekt zu reali­sie­ren, grün­dete er 2003 die Stif­tung Solar Impulse. Die Welt­um­run­dung in Etap­pen star­tete 2015. Im Folge­jahr schloss er sie erfolg­reich ab.

Aufruf

2017 lancierte die Stif­tung den Aufruf für 1000 Lösun­gen. Diese müssen den Klima­wan­del posi­tiv beein­flus­sen und gleich­zei­tig renta­bel sein. Lösungs­an­sätze, welche die Anfor­de­run­gen der Stif­tung erfül­len, zeich­net diese mit einem Label aus. Für die Vergabe des Labels prüfen unab­hän­gige Exper­tin­nen und Exper­ten die Lösungs­an­sätze. Die nun zerti­fi­zier­ten 1000 Lösun­gen stam­men aus 67 Ländern. Sie tragen zur Lösung ökolo­gi­scher Heraus­for­de­run­gen in den Berei­chen Wasser, Ener­gie, Bau, Mobi­li­tät, Indu­strie und Land­wirt­schaft bei. Bert­rand Piccard sagt: «Wir haben den Beweis erbracht, dass es zahl­rei­che Lösun­gen gibt, um unsere Welt schon jetzt auf profi­ta­ble Art nach­hal­tig und effi­zi­ent zu gestal­ten. Jetzt müssen wir sicher­stel­len, dass Regie­run­gen und Unter­neh­men anfan­gen, die für ihre jewei­lige Situa­tion ange­mes­se­nen Tech­no­lo­gien umzu­set­zen.» Dazu ist eine digi­tale Daten­bank, ein «Solu­tion Guide» im Aufbau. Sie wird die Möglich­keit bieten, nach der passen­den Lösung zu suchen. Gleich­zei­tig gehen weitere Lösungs­vor­schläge ein. Es gibt nicht 1000 Lösun­gen. Es gibt mehr. Zeit, sie anzuwenden. 

Lesen Sie das Inter­view mit Bert­rand Piccard.

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

StiftungSchweiz engagiert sich für eine Philanthropie, die mit möglichst wenig Aufwand viel bewirkt, für alle sichtbar und erlebbar ist und Freude bereitet.

Follow StiftungSchweiz on

The Philanthropist im Abo
Jetzt profitieren!