50

Moving forward

It’s the 50th anni­ver­s­ary of women’s suffrage in Switz­er­land – but only the 50th. Do we have reason to cele­brate? Yes and no.

Yes – we’ve come a long way. The number of women appoin­ted to the Federal Assem­bly in the natio­nal elec­tions in 2019 reached a record 40 percent. ‘Helve­tia ruft!’, a non-parti­san move­ment promo­ting women in poli­tics, was laun­ched in 2018 owing to concerns that the propor­tion of women might decline in the upco­m­ing natio­nal elec­tions. It encou­ra­ged women to stand for elec­tion and prepa­red the candi­da­tes to take office through work­shops and mento­ring. The aim of the move­ment is for men and women to occupy an equal role in poli­ti­cal deci­sion-making in Switz­er­land. The non-parti­san move­ment Helve­tia ruft! was foun­ded by Kath­rin Bert­schy and Flavia Klei­ner, and is now suppor­ted by hund­reds of women and run by alli­ance F. alli­ance F seeks to repre­sent women’s voices in Swiss politics.

Equal pay and equal opportunities?

No – there is still signi­fi­cant work to do in areas­such as equal pay and equal oppor­tu­nities. The fact is that women are still hugely under-repre­sen­ted on admi­ni­stra­tive boards, boards of trus­tees and manage­ment teams, parti­cu­larly in SMEs and large compa­nies. Is this the effect of women only having recei­ved their poli­ti­cal rights so late in the day? This is a topic that deser­ves reflec­tion over the coming year. The website Ch2021.ch offers insights into the history of women’s rights in Switzerland.

Brothers without sisters

Swiss women’s asso­cia­ti­ons criti­cised the Federal Coun­cil in 1948, saying that Switz­er­land was a ‘nation of brothers without sisters’. The Federal Council’s motto for the centen­ary of the Federal Consti­tu­tion was ‘Switz­er­land: a nation of brothers’. At the time, most other Euro­pean coun­tries had already intro­du­ced women’s suffrage. Almost ten years later, on 5 March 1957, the Muni­ci­pal Coun­cil of Unter­bäch, Valais, gran­ted women one-off voting rights, against the will of the Swiss government. Unter­bäch is still known as the ‘Swiss women’s Rütli’ – Rütli being the site where the Swiss Confe­der­acy was first foun­ded. It would be anot­her 14 years before women were gran­ted their demo­cra­tic rights on 7 Febru­ary 1971. This was thanks to deca­des of fight­ing by brave women. The CH2021 asso­cia­tion is provi­ding a Swiss-wide infor­ma­tion and networ­king plat­form in honour of the 50th anni­ver­s­ary. The impli­ca­ti­ons of the late intro­duc­tion of women’s suffrage for women today should also be a topic of discus­sion in 2021.

Do we have reason to celebrate?

It is important to cele­brate and honour what has been achie­ved – online for now, and perhaps in person later in the year. It is equally important to reflect on the real reason why there remain so many disad­van­ta­ged indu­stries, and indu­stries in which women are hugely under-repre­sen­ted in leadership positions.

The 50th anni­ver­s­ary of women’s suffrage is about women. It puts them in the spot­light, rather than just inclu­ding them in the chorus.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

StiftungSchweiz is committed to enabling a modern philanthropy that unites and excites people and has maximum impact with minimal time and effort.

Follow StiftungSchweiz on

The Philanthropist by subscribtion
Benefit now!

50

Et ça continue

Le droit de vote des femmes remonte à 50 ans. À peine. Un événe­ment à fêter? Oui et non. 

Oui: il y a eu de nombreu­ses avan­cées. La part des femmes au Parle­ment fédé­ral lors des élec­tions de renou­vel­lement natio­na­les a atteint 40% en 2019 – un record. Helve­tia vous appelle!, un mouve­ment non parti­san pour les femmes en poli­tique, est inter­venu en 2018, car la part des femmes lors des élec­tions natio­na­les de l’époque mena­çait de bais­ser. Il a encou­ragé les femmes à se présen­ter et a préparé les candi­da­tes à leur mandat en orga­nisant des ateliers et du tuto­rat. L’objectif du mouve­ment est que les femmes et les hommes pren­nent les déci­si­ons poli­ti­ques à parts égales en Suisse. Créé par Kath­rin Bert­schy et Flavia Klei­ner, le mouve­ment non parti­san Helve­tia vous appelle! est aujourd’hui soutenu par des centai­nes de femmes et établi chez alli­ance F, qui est considé­rée comme la voix des femmes en politique.

L’égalité des chan­ces et des salaires?

Non: concer­nant l’égalité des chan­ces et des salai­res, le retard reste considé­ra­ble. Les femmes sont encore forte­ment sous-repré­sen­tées dans les conseils d’administrations et de fonda­ti­ons ainsi que dans les direc­tions d’entreprises, notam­ment dans les PME et les gran­des entre­pri­ses. Est-ce la consé­quence de l’introduction tardive des droits poli­ti­ques des femmes? C’est ce sur quoi nous devons nous pencher au cours de cette année. La page d’accueil de CH2021.ch propose un aperçu de l’histoire des droits des femmes en Suisse.

Des frères sans sœurs

La Suisse est une popu­la­tion de «frères sans sœurs»: voici la critique qu’adressaient les asso­cia­ti­ons fémi­ni­stes suis­ses au Conseil fédé­ral en 1948. À l’occasion du centen­aire de la consti­tu­tion fédé­rale, celui-ci avait choisi pour devise «La Suisse, un pays de frères». À l’époque, la plupart des pays euro­péens avai­ent accordé le droit de vote aux femmes. Près de dix ans plus tard, le 5 mars 1957, le conseil commu­nal d’Unterbäch, dans le canton du Valais, octroyait le droit de vote aux femmes pour une occa­sion unique contre l’avis du gouver­ne­ment. Unter­bäch est, aujourd’hui encore, surnom­mée le «Grütli de la femme suisse». Il faudra attendre encore 14 ans, jusqu’au 7 février 1971, pour que ce droit démo­cra­tique soit accordé aux femmes. Un droit que l’on doit à des femmes coura­geu­ses qui se sont battues pendant des dizai­nes d’années. L’association CH2021 propose une plate­forme natio­nale d’information et de mise en rela­tion à l’occasion de cet anni­ver­saire. Les consé­quen­ces actu­el­les de l’octroi tardif du droit de vote aux femmes doiv­ent être abor­dées en 2021. 

Un événe­ment à fêter?

Il est important de fêter et de valo­riser les acquis, dans un premier temps en ligne, puis peut-être sur place, plus tard dans l’année. Il est égale­ment important de marquer un temps d’arrêt pour réflé­chir à la véri­ta­ble raison pour laquelle il y a des bran­ches qui restent défa­vo­ri­sées et d’autres bran­ches dans lesquel­les les femmes sont forte­ment sous-repré­sen­tées aux postes de direction.

Le 50e anni­ver­saire du droit de vote des femmes se foca­lise sur celles-ci. Il n’est pas simple­ment question des femmes: elles sont bel et bien sous le feu des projecteurs.

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

StiftungSchweiz encourage une philanthropie qui atteint plus avec moins de moyens, qui est visible et perceptible par tous, et qui apporte de la joie.

Suivez StiftungSchweiz sur

The Philanthropist par abonnement
Profitez-en maintenant !