239

Room to improve

The ties between parlia­ment and foun­da­ti­ons is much weaker than those between parlia­ment and asso­cia­ti­ons. There are simple reasons behind this. 

The list of inte­rests for members of the Natio­nal Coun­cil and Coun­cil of States details about 2,000 manda­tes at asso­cia­ti­ons, foun­da­ti­ons and various orga­ni­sa­ti­ons within the private sector. Of these roles, 333 are at foun­da­ti­ons, 239 of which are unpaid. This means foun­da­ti­ons are much more badly networ­ked in parlia­ment than asso­cia­ti­ons: parlia­men­ta­ri­ans hold 965 roles with asso­cia­ti­ons, 631 of which are unpaid. Lukas Golder, co-direc­tor of the rese­arch insti­tute gfs.bern, is not surpri­sed: ‘For poli­ti­ci­ans, foun­da­tion manda­tes are just a supple­ment, but asso­cia­ti­ons can form the basis for a poli­ti­cal career,’ he says. He cites an association’s members as the lever that makes them appe­aling for parlia­men­ta­ri­ans. They are closely linked to the asso­cia­ti­ons and their issues. ‘Asso­cia­tion members can lend their support during an campaign and help with finan­cing,’ he says. He sees foun­da­ti­ons as prima­rily commu­ni­ca­ting exper­tise on very speci­fic issues and, in some cases, with little public impact. 

Unde­re­sti­ma­ted power

‘Poli­ti­ci­ans may well unde­re­sti­mate the power they can gain by taking up a trus­tee­ship,’ says Golder. He also sees a certain reluc­tance on the part of foun­da­ti­ons. They fear that their acti­vi­ties could be depic­ted in a contro­ver­sial way and are put off by the incre­a­singly pola­ri­sed nature of poli­tics. This is where the invol­ve­ment of female parlia­men­ta­ri­ans could help to reduce their misgi­vings. ‘Despite the fact that we have a civil parlia­ment, the people there are prac­ti­cally profes­sio­nals,’ says Golder. They can take away the fear asso­cia­ted with invol­ve­ment in poli­tics. An important task, in his eyes – because, he says, if you think poli­ti­cally, you quickly become more rele­vant. ‘You have more leverage on the ground and can create the basis for some­thing new.’ Due to their speci­fic skills, he sees the poten­tial in foun­da­ti­ons and would like them to acquire more of a start-up menta­lity, acting as a coun­ter­weight to pola­ri­sed poli­tics. Poli­ti­cal educa­tion is of central import­ance to a demo­cracy. and he has iden­ti­fied a gap here that foun­da­ti­ons could close. There are already a few indi­vi­dual commit­ments, but nowhere near enough. ‘Poli­ti­cal educa­tion crea­tes a coun­ter­weight to pola­ri­sa­tion. It teaches people to respect their opponent’s argu­ment, to come toge­ther and to have a construc­tive dialo­gue,’ says Golder. 

Worth five times as much

The members of the FDP parlia­men­tary group have the highest number of unpaid posts on boards of trus­tees, with its 41 poli­ti­ci­ans totting up 59 roles among them. At 1.4 roles per person, the FDP also tops the leader­board in terms of roles per person, follo­wed by the Centre parlia­men­tary group with 1.3 and the SP at 1.2. Green Libe­ral and Green parlia­men­ta­ri­ans come in at 0.9 and 0.8 respec­tively. Repre­sen­ta­ti­ves of the SVP have the smal­lest number of unpaid posi­ti­ons on boards of trus­tees. In a compa­ri­son of both coun­cils, members of the Coun­cil of States have a higher number of unpaid trus­tee­ships, both per person and in total. ‘A seat on the Coun­cil of States is worth five times as much as a seat on the Natio­nal Coun­cil,’ explains Golder. The Natio­nal Coun­cil has almost five times as many members, but both cham­bers are on an equal footing. State coun­cil­lors are of parti­cu­lar inte­rest in terms of trus­tee­ships since they are gene­rally invol­ved in more committees.

StiftungSchweiz is committed to enabling a modern philanthropy that unites and excites people and has maximum impact with minimal time and effort.

Follow StiftungSchweiz on

The Philanthropist by subscribtion
Benefit now!

239

Un grand potentiel

Comparé au secteur asso­cia­tif, le rése­au­tage des fonda­ti­ons avec le Parle­ment est peu déve­lo­ppé, et ce, pour de simp­les raisons.

En se basant sur la liste des liens d’intérêt, les membres du Conseil natio­nal et du Conseil des États comp­ta­bi­li­sent envi­ron 2000 mandats au sein de diffé­ren­tes orga­ni­sa­ti­ons du secteur privé, asso­cia­ti­ons et fonda­ti­ons. Les fonda­ti­ons en tota­li­sent 333, dont 239 ne sont pas rému­n­é­rées. Elles sont donc nette­ment moins bien liées au Parle­ment que les asso­cia­ti­ons. Les député·e·s déti­en­nent 965 mandats asso­cia­tifs, dont 631 non rému­n­é­rés. Lukas Golder, codi­rec­teur de l’institut de sondage gfs.bern, n’est pas surpris par cette situa­tion. «Pour les hommes et femmes poli­ti­ques, les mandats au sein des conseils de fonda­tion ne sont qu’un complé­ment. En revan­che, les asso­cia­ti­ons peuvent consti­tuer la base d’une carri­ère poli­tique», expli­que-t-il. Selon lui, pour les député·e·s, ce sont les membres qui sont à l’origine de l’attrait des asso­cia­ti­ons, étant donné qu’ils y sont étroi­te­ment liés, y compris à leurs objec­tifs. «Les membres d’une asso­cia­tion peuvent soutenir une campa­gne élec­to­rale et parti­ci­per à son finan­ce­ment», ajoute-t-il. Pour lui, les fonda­ti­ons trans­met­tent surtout des compé­ten­ces et ont parfois peu de visi­bi­lité sur des prob­lé­ma­ti­ques bien spécifiques. 

Un pouvoir sous-estimé

«Peut-être que les hommes et les femmes poli­ti­ques sous-esti­ment le pouvoir qui peut être acquis grâce à un mandat au sein d’un conseil de fonda­tion», déclare Lukas Golder. Et il recon­naît aussi une certaine réti­cence de la part des fonda­ti­ons, qui ont peur d’une repré­sen­ta­tion contro­ver­sée de leurs acti­vi­tés. La pola­ri­sa­tion crois­sante dans le domaine de la poli­tique les décou­rage. La parti­ci­pa­tion de député·e·s pour­rait aider à rédu­ire ces réti­cen­ces. «Malgré un parle­ment de milice, pres­que la tota­lité des person­nes élues sont des profes­si­on­nels», expli­que Lukas Golder. Ils peuvent dissi­per la peur de l’engagement poli­tique, ce qui est néces­saire d’après lui. Avoir un raison­ne­ment poli­tique permet de gagner plus rapi­de­ment en import­ance, dit-il. «On met un bon coup d’accélérateur et on peut ainsi créer une base pour quel­que chose de nouveau». En raison de leurs compé­ten­ces spéci­fi­ques, il voit un poten­tiel pour les fonda­ti­ons et souhaite qu’elles aient davan­tage une menta­lité de start-up. Elles pour­rai­ent faire cont­re­po­ids à la poli­tique pola­ri­sée. L’éducation poli­tique est essen­ti­elle à une démo­cra­tie. Et c’est dans ce domaine qu’il remar­que une lacune que les fonda­ti­ons pour­rai­ent combler. Certes, les enga­ge­ments indi­vi­du­els existent déjà, mais avec bien trop peu d’actions. «L’éducation poli­tique crée un cont­re­po­ids à la pola­ri­sa­tion. Elle apprend à respec­ter les argu­ments de l’autre, à aller vers l’autre et à mener un dialo­gue construc­tif», expli­que Lukas Golder. 

Cinq fois plus de valeur

Ce sont les membres du groupe parle­men­taire du PLR qui compt­ent le plus grand nombre de mandats de fonda­tion non rému­n­é­rés. Les 41 hommes et femmes poli­ti­ques cumu­lent 59 mandats. Ainsi, ils présen­tent la valeur la plus élevée en matière de mandats multi­ples, comp­ta­bi­li­sant 1,4 mandat par personne. Suiv­ent le centre avec 1,3 mandat et le PS avec 1,2 mandat. Les Vert’­li­bé­raux et les Verts ont respec­ti­ve­ment 0,9 et 0,8 mandats. Ce sont les repré­sen­tants de l’UDC qui compt­ent le moins de mandats de fonda­tion non rému­n­é­rés. Si l’on compare les deux cham­bres, les membres du Conseil des États présen­tent plus de mandats de fonda­tion non rému­n­é­rés par personne et tota­li­sent plus de mandats dans l’ensemble. «Un siège au Conseil des États a une valeur cinq fois plus élevée qu’un siège au Conseil natio­nal», expli­que Lukas Golder. Le Conseil natio­nal compte en effet pres­que cinq fois plus de membres, mais les deux cham­bres sont sur un pied d’égalité. Si les conseil­lè­res et conseil­lers aux États sont parti­cu­liè­re­ment intéres­sants pour les mandats, c’est parce qu’ils siègent géné­ra­le­ment dans plusieurs commissions.

StiftungSchweiz encourage une philanthropie qui atteint plus avec moins de moyens, qui est visible et perceptible par tous, et qui apporte de la joie.

Suivez StiftungSchweiz sur

The Philanthropist par abonnement
Profitez-en maintenant !