239

Room to improve

The ties between parlia­ment and foun­da­ti­ons is much weaker than those between parlia­ment and asso­cia­ti­ons. There are simple reasons behind this. 

The list of inte­rests for members of the Natio­nal Coun­cil and Coun­cil of States details about 2,000 manda­tes at asso­cia­ti­ons, foun­da­ti­ons and various orga­ni­sa­ti­ons within the private sector. Of these roles, 333 are at foun­da­ti­ons, 239 of which are unpaid. This means foun­da­ti­ons are much more badly networ­ked in parlia­ment than asso­cia­ti­ons: parlia­men­ta­ri­ans hold 965 roles with asso­cia­ti­ons, 631 of which are unpaid. Lukas Golder, co-direc­tor of the rese­arch insti­tute gfs.bern, is not surpri­sed: ‘For poli­ti­ci­ans, foun­da­tion manda­tes are just a supple­ment, but asso­cia­ti­ons can form the basis for a poli­ti­cal career,’ he says. He cites an association’s members as the lever that makes them appe­aling for parlia­men­ta­ri­ans. They are closely linked to the asso­cia­ti­ons and their issues. ‘Asso­cia­tion members can lend their support during an campaign and help with finan­cing,’ he says. He sees foun­da­ti­ons as prima­rily commu­ni­ca­ting exper­tise on very speci­fic issues and, in some cases, with little public impact. 

Unde­re­sti­ma­ted power

‘Poli­ti­ci­ans may well unde­re­sti­mate the power they can gain by taking up a trus­tee­ship,’ says Golder. He also sees a certain reluc­tance on the part of foun­da­ti­ons. They fear that their acti­vi­ties could be depic­ted in a contro­ver­sial way and are put off by the incre­a­singly pola­ri­sed nature of poli­tics. This is where the invol­ve­ment of female parlia­men­ta­ri­ans could help to reduce their misgi­vings. ‘Despite the fact that we have a civil parlia­ment, the people there are prac­ti­cally profes­sio­nals,’ says Golder. They can take away the fear asso­cia­ted with invol­ve­ment in poli­tics. An important task, in his eyes – because, he says, if you think poli­ti­cally, you quickly become more rele­vant. ‘You have more leverage on the ground and can create the basis for some­thing new.’ Due to their speci­fic skills, he sees the poten­tial in foun­da­ti­ons and would like them to acquire more of a start-up menta­lity, acting as a coun­ter­weight to pola­ri­sed poli­tics. Poli­ti­cal educa­tion is of central import­ance to a demo­cracy. and he has iden­ti­fied a gap here that foun­da­ti­ons could close. There are already a few indi­vi­dual commit­ments, but nowhere near enough. ‘Poli­ti­cal educa­tion crea­tes a coun­ter­weight to pola­ri­sa­tion. It teaches people to respect their opponent’s argu­ment, to come toge­ther and to have a construc­tive dialo­gue,’ says Golder. 

Worth five times as much

The members of the FDP parlia­men­tary group have the highest number of unpaid posts on boards of trus­tees, with its 41 poli­ti­ci­ans totting up 59 roles among them. At 1.4 roles per person, the FDP also tops the leader­board in terms of roles per person, follo­wed by the Centre parlia­men­tary group with 1.3 and the SP at 1.2. Green Libe­ral and Green parlia­men­ta­ri­ans come in at 0.9 and 0.8 respec­tively. Repre­sen­ta­ti­ves of the SVP have the smal­lest number of unpaid posi­ti­ons on boards of trus­tees. In a compa­ri­son of both coun­cils, members of the Coun­cil of States have a higher number of unpaid trus­tee­ships, both per person and in total. ‘A seat on the Coun­cil of States is worth five times as much as a seat on the Natio­nal Coun­cil,’ explains Golder. The Natio­nal Coun­cil has almost five times as many members, but both cham­bers are on an equal footing. State coun­cil­lors are of parti­cu­lar inte­rest in terms of trus­tee­ships since they are gene­rally invol­ved in more committees.

StiftungSchweiz is committed to enabling a modern philanthropy that unites and excites people and has maximum impact with minimal time and effort.

Follow StiftungSchweiz on

The Philanthropist by subscribtion
Benefit now!

239

Potenzial nach Oben

Die Vernet­zung zwischen Parla­ment und Stif­tun­gen ist im Vergleich zum Vereins­we­sen wenig ausge­baut. Es sind gerade einmal 239 unbe­zahlte Stif­tungs­rats­man­date von 2000 Manda­ten insgesamt.

Rund 2000 Mandate in verschie­de­nen Orga­ni­sa­tio­nen in der Privat­wirt­schaft, in Verei­nen und Stif­tun­gen weisen die Mitglie­der des Natio­nal- und Stän­de­ra­tes in der Liste der Inter­es­sen­ver­bin­dun­gen aus. Auf Stif­tun­gen entfal­len 333, wobei 239 davon unbe­zahlt sind. Damit sind Stif­tun­gen im Parla­ment deut­lich schlech­ter vernetzt als Vereine. Die Parla­men­ta­rie­rin­nen und Parla­men­ta­rier halten 965 Vereins­man­date, wovon 631 unbe­zahlt sind. Lukas Golder, Co-Leiter des Forschungs­in­sti­tuts gfs.bern, über­rascht dies nicht. «Für Poli­ti­ker und Poli­ti­ke­rin­nen sind Stif­tungs­rats­man­date nur eine Ergän­zung. Vereine können dage­gen die Basis für eine poli­ti­sche Karriere bilden», sagt er. Als Hebel, der Vereine für die Parlamentarier:innen inter­es­sant macht, nennt er die Mitglie­der. Diese sind eng mit den Verei­nen und deren Themen verbun­den. «Vereins­mit­glie­der können einen Wahl­kampf unter­stüt­zen und bei der Finan­zie­rung helfen», sagt er. Stif­tun­gen sieht er vor allem kompe­tenz­ver­mit­telnd und in sehr spezi­fi­schen Themen teil­weise wenig öffent­lich­keits­wirk­sam unterwegs. 

Unter­schätzte Kraft

«Viel­leicht unter­schät­zen die Politiker:innen die Kraft, die mit einem Stif­tungs­rats­man­dat erlangt werden kann», sagt Lukas Golder. Und er erkennt auf der Stif­tungs­seite auch eine gewisse Zurück­hal­tung. Stif­tun­gen fürch­ten sich vor einer umstrit­te­nen Darstel­lung der eige­nen Tätig­keit. Die zuneh­mende Pola­ri­sie­rung in der Poli­tik schreckt sie ab. Hier könnte die Einbin­dung von Parlamentarier:innen helfen, Vorbe­halte abzu­bauen. «Trotz Miliz­par­la­ment sitzen im Parla­ment beinahe Profis», sagt Lukas Golder. Sie können einem die Angst vor dem poli­ti­schen Enga­ge­ment nehmen. Das sei notwen­dig. Wer poli­tisch denkt, errei­che schnell mehr Rele­vanz, sagt er. «Man bringt mehr PS auf den Boden und kann eine Grund­lage für etwas Neues schaf­fen.» Aufgrund ihrer spezi­fi­schen Kompe­ten­zen sieht er Poten­zial bei den Stif­tun­gen und wünscht sich von ihnen mehr Start-up-Menta­li­tät. Sie könn­ten ein Gegen­ge­wicht zur pola­ri­sier­ten Poli­tik sein. Poli­ti­sche Bildung ist zentral für eine Demo­kra­tie. Und hier erkennt er eine Lücke, die Stif­tun­gen schlies­sen könn­ten. Zwar gibt es bereits einzelne Enga­ge­ments. Aber noch passiere viel zu wenig. «Poli­ti­sche Bildung schafft ein Gegen­ge­wicht zur Pola­ri­sie­rung. Sie lehrt, die Argu­mente des Gegen-
übers zu achten, aufein­an­der zuzu­ge­hen und einen konstruk­ti­ven Dialog zu führen», sagt Lukas Golder. 

Fünf­fa­cher Wert

Am meisten unbe­zahlte Stif­tungs­man­date weisen die Mitglie­der der FDP-Frak­tion auf. 59 Mandate ver-
einen die 41 Politiker:innen auf sich. Mit 1,4 Manda­ten pro Person weisen sie auch bei den Mehr­fach­man­da­ten den Spit­zen­wert auf. Es folgen die Mitte mit 1,3 und die SP mit 1,2 Manda­ten. Grün­li­be­rale und grüne Parlamentarier:innen haben 0,9 resp. 0,8 Mandate. Am wenig­sten unbe­zahlte Stif­tungs­man­date entfal­len auf  Vertreter:innen der SVP. Vergleicht man die beiden Räte, weisen die Mitglie­der des Stän­de­ra­tes pro Person mehr unbe­zahlte Stif­tungs­rats­man­date und Mandate insge­samt aus. «Ein Sitz im Stän­de­rat hat den fünf­fa­chen Wert im Vergleich zu einem im Natio­nal­rat», erläu­tert Lukas Golder. Der Natio­nal­rat hat fast fünf­mal so viele Mitglie­der, aber beide Kammern sind gleich­be­rech­tigt. Beson­ders inter­es­sant für Mandate macht die Ständerät:innen, dass sie meist in mehre­ren Kommis­sio­nen sitzen. 

StiftungSchweiz engagiert sich für eine Philanthropie, die mit möglichst wenig Aufwand viel bewirkt, für alle sichtbar und erlebbar ist und Freude bereitet.

Folgen Sie StiftungSchweiz auf

The Philanthropist by subscribtion
Benefit now!