A colla­bo­ra­tion with potential

Broadening content

The Philanthropist and Senior­web are ente­ring into a new part­nership. They will start by colla­bo­ra­ting on content, deve­lo­ping arti­cles rele­vant to readers of both portals that will then be published across both chan­nels. The part­nership will allow both Senior­web and The Philanthropist to expand the range of topics they cover.

Jour­na­lism is rede­fi­ning itself. This change is driven by digi­ta­li­sa­tion. New formats, new chan­nels and new narra­tive forms are opening up new possi­bi­li­ties. But digi­tal trans­for­ma­tion comes with certain chal­len­ges. Back in 1998, a group of older people reco­gnised the incre­a­sing import­ance of elec­tro­nic media for the older genera­tion, and laun­ched Senior­web in response. They deve­lo­ped the website seniorweb.ch, a plat­form that intro­du­ces the older genera­tion to the internet.

Profes­sio­na­li­sa­tion around 15 years ago

Linus Baur joined Senior­web in 2007. Now aged 77, he still runs the edito­rial depart­ment today. ‘I was asked if I wanted to help make the edito­rial depart­ment more profes­sio­nal and improve the quality of the content,’ Baur recalls. 

‘I deve­lo­ped an edito­rial concept that met with gene­ral appro­val, and was soon made head of the depart­ment.’ The edito­rial team is still made up of volun­te­ers, as it was back then. The depart­ment curr­ently consists of eleven members: five women and six men. Then there are around ten or twelve free­lance writers, most of whom have an edito­rial or jour­na­lism back­ground. Baur is plea­sed to have been able to main­tain an edito­rial team with a fairly good gender balance thus far.

Coro­na­vi­rus can’t stand in the way of this dedi­ca­ted team

Nothing has chan­ged since the coro­na­vi­rus pande­mic, stres­ses Linus Baur. The edito­rial team still meets every month – though this now takes place on Zoom, and the topics they choose have been adap­ted to the circum­stan­ces. The team is very busy, publi­shing two to three online arti­cles a day. In 2020, they published well over 800 arti­cles on society, culture, life­style, health and digi­tal topics, as well as opinion pieces.

Broa­de­ning the variety of content through collaboration

‘The colla­bo­ra­tion will open up lots of new oppor­tu­nities for The Philanthropist,’ enthu­ses Clau­dia Dutli, the magazine’s Publi­shing Director. 

‘In the course of the first meeting, it quickly became clear that we had a lot of cross­over,’ she states. ‘It’s defi­ni­tely a media part­nership with poten­tial.’ ‘Our content is curr­ently some­what culture-heavy,’ reflects Linus Baur. His goal for 2021 is to broa­den the range of topics cove­red. He is confi­dent that they will achieve this aim, as they are in the process of growing the edito­rial team and staff. 

Senior­web

The project owner of seniorweb.ch is Pro Senior­web, which opera­tes Senior­web AG (Chair­man of the Board of Direc­tors Anton Schal­ler). Senior­web is run by a manage­ment team made up of seven members. The charity has around 60 members of staff, all of whom are volun­te­ers.  The head office is loca­ted near the Stauf­fa­cher junc­tion in Zurich, and inclu­des a trai­ning room for digi­tal topics. 
Further­more: Senior­web publishes a weekly news­let­ter with infor­ma­tion about the latest arti­cles and offers at seniorweb.ch, which curr­ently has around 11,000 subscri­bers. It also co-publishes the quar­terly print maga­zine senio­rin, which has a circu­la­tion of around 17,000.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

StiftungSchweiz is committed to enabling a modern philanthropy that unites and excites people and has maximum impact with minimal time and effort.

Follow StiftungSchweiz on

The Philanthropist by subscribtion
Benefit now!

Koope­ra­tion mit Potenzial

Themenvielfalt erweitern

The Philanthropist und Senior­web gehen eine Koope­ra­tion ein. Gestar­tet wird mit einer inhalt­li­chen Zusam­men­ar­beit. Themen, die einen Mehr­wert für die Lese­rin­nen und Leser beider Portale schaf­fen, werden entspre­chend aufbe­rei­tet und auf beiden Kanä­len publiziert.

Der Jour­na­lis­mus defi­niert sich gerade neu. Trei­be­rin des Wandels ist die Digi­ta­li­sie­rung. Neue Formate, neue Kanäle und neue Erzähl­for­men eröff­nen neue Möglich­kei­ten. Der digi­tale Wandel birgt aber auch Heraus­for­de­run­gen. Bereits 1998 haben eine Hand­voll Senio­rin­nen und Senio­ren die aufkom­mende Bedeu­tung der elek­tro­ni­schen Medien für die ältere Genera­tion erkannt und Senior­web lanciert. Mit der Website seniorweb.ch entwickel­ten sie eine Platt­form, um die ältere Genera­tion ans Inter­net heranzuführen.

Profes­sio­na­li­sie­rung vor rund 15 Jahren

2007 stiess Linus Baur zu Senior­web. Bis heute leitet der mitt­ler­weile 77-Jährige die Redak­tion. «Ich wurde ange­fragt, ob ich mithel­fen wolle, die dama­lige Redak­tion zu profes­sio­na­li­sie­ren und die Quali­tät der Beiträge zu verbes­sern», erzählt Linus Baur.

«Ich erstellte ein Redak­ti­ons­kon­zept, das allge­meine Zustim­mung fand, und wurde flugs zum Leiter der Redak­tion ernannt.» Heute wie schon damals arbei­tet die Redak­tion ehren­amt­lich. Gegen­wär­tig verfügt die Redak­tion über elf Mitglie­der, fünf Frauen und sechs Männer. Hinzu kommen rund zehn bis zwölf freie Autorin­nen und Autoren, die meisten mit jour­na­li­sti­scher, redak­tio­nel­ler Berufs­er­fah­rung. Linus Baur freut sich, dass es ihm bislang gelun­gen ist, die Redak­tion eini­ger­mas­sen pari­tä­tisch zusammenzusetzen.

Corona hält die moti­vierte Crew nicht auf

Seit dem Ausbruch der Corona-Pande­mie habe sich nichts geän­dert, betont Linus Baur, die Redak­tion treffe sich nach wie vor monat­lich, aller­dings per Zoom, und die Themen­wahl musste den neuen Erfor­der­nis­sen ange­passt werden. Die Redak­tion ist sehr aktiv, sie publi­ziert täglich zwei bis drei Online-Arti­kel. Im Jahr 2020 waren das weit über 800 Beiträge in den Berei­chen Gesell­schaft, Kultur, Lebens­art, Gesund­heit, Kolum­nen und Digital.

Mit der Koope­ra­tion die Themen­viel­falt erweitern

«Die Koope­ra­tion eröff­net The Philanthropist viele Möglich­kei­ten», freut sich Clau­dia Dutli, Verlags­lei­te­rin von The Philanthropist.

«Im Zuge der ersten Bespre­chung kristal­li­sierte sich rasch heraus, dass wir zahl­rei­che Berüh­rungs­punkte haben», betont sie. «Die Medi­en­ko­ope­ra­tion hat Poten­zial.» Linus Baur gibt zu beden­ken: «Unsere Redak­tion ist gegen­wär­tig etwas kultur­la­stig.» Ziel für 2021 sei, die Themen­viel­falt zu erwei­tern. Er ist zuver­sicht­lich, dass sie dieses Ziel errei­chen werden, denn sie sind dabei, Redak­tion und Mitar­bei­ter­stab aufzustocken.

Senior­web

Träge­rin von seniorweb.ch ist die Stif­tung Pro Senior­web, Betrei­be­rin die Senior­web AG (Verwal­tungs­rats­prä­si­dent Anton Schal­ler). Gelei­tet wird Senior­web von einem sieben­köp­fi­gen Führungs­team. Alle rund 60 Mitar­bei­ten­den arbei­ten ehren­amt­lich mit. Der Geschäfts­sitz mit Schu­lungs­raum für digi­tale Themen liegt am Stauf­fa­cher in Zürich.
Ausser­dem: Wöchent­lich kommt ein News­let­ter mit Hinwei­sen zu den aktu­el­len Beiträ­gen und Ange­bo­ten auf seniorweb.ch heraus. Dieser geht an rund 11’000 Abon­nen­ten. Mither­aus­ge­be­rin des vier­tel­jähr­lich erschei­nen­den Print­ma­ga­zins «senio­rin», das an rund 17’000 Abon­nen­ten geht.

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

StiftungSchweiz engagiert sich für eine Philanthropie, die mit möglichst wenig Aufwand viel bewirkt, für alle sichtbar und erlebbar ist und Freude bereitet.

Follow StiftungSchweiz on

The Philanthropist im Abo
Jetzt profitieren!