225

Companies and philanthropy

Corpo­rate foun­da­ti­ons sit some­where between entre­pre­neurship and nonpro­fit work. At present, Switz­er­land is home to around 225 foun­da­ti­ons with a close connec­tion to a company. 

Corpo­rate foun­da­ti­ons are foun­da­ti­ons with their own legal perso­na­lity that were foun­ded by a company for the purpose of enga­ging in phil­an­thropy. They straddle two sepa­rate worlds. Why? Because compa­nies are always focu­sed on profit, while foun­da­ti­ons pursue a chari­ta­ble purpose. By setting up a foun­da­tion, commer­cial enter­pri­ses can build a bridge to civil society. It’s about buil­ding trust and ‘corpo­rate social respon­si­bi­lity’, the respon­si­bi­lity a company holds towards society – an incre­a­singly important issue. By giving some of their profit to a foun­da­tion, compa­nies express their willing­ness to engage with socie­tal issues in the long term. Plus, corpo­rate foun­da­ti­ons gene­rally find it easier than profit-focu­sed compa­nies to get in touch with other NPOs. 

Diffe­ren­ces in size and purpose

At present, Switz­er­land is home to around 225 corpo­rate foun­da­ti­ons. ‘They include foun­da­ti­ons of all stri­pes, but every one of them is closely connec­ted to a company,’ says Profes­sor Georg von Schnur­bein, Direc­tor of the Center for Phil­an­thropy Studies (CEPS) at the Univer­sity of Basel. ‘The foun­da­tion can be estab­lished by the company or by an owner of a company.’ It is diffi­cult to say what the precise number is. Firstly, the Swiss foun­da­tion sector is large and dyna­mic, with nume­rous new foun­da­ti­ons set up and others liqui­da­ted every year. Secondly, corpo­rate foun­da­ti­ons can differ greatly in terms of their size, purpose and rela­ti­ons­hip with their parent company. Some might engage in work in a simi­lar area as the company, whereas others are deli­ber­ately focu­sed on a very diffe­rent field. 

Repu­ta­tion and marketing

There are various reasons why a company might set up a nonpro­fit foun­da­tion. ‘In the simp­lest case, the foun­da­tion is set up for the sake of repu­ta­tion and marke­ting,’ says von Schnur­bein. There are also instru­men­tal consi­de­ra­ti­ons if the content of the foundation’s work is close to the company’s core busi­ness and offers synergy effects for both parties. This is illu­stra­ted by the Syngenta Foun­da­tion for Sustainable Agri­cul­ture, estab­lished by Syngenta, a produ­cer of plant protec­tion products, or the Hear the World Foun­da­tion, which the Sonova Group, a hearing aids manu­fac­tu­rer, uses to support child­ren around the world who are affec­ted by hearing loss. That said, there are also foun­da­ti­ons active in a comple­tely diffe­rent area from their company, as is often seen in the finan­cial sector. Banks like Credit Suisse or UBS use their foun­da­ti­ons to support cultu­ral, social and scien­ti­fic projects, and in the phar­maceu­ti­cal indu­stry, rese­arch foun­da­ti­ons can safe­guard scien­ti­fic inde­pen­dence through their legal form.

Corpo­rate foun­da­ti­ons exist in every sector, but it tends to be larger compa­nies that set up foun­da­ti­ons. Some, like Novar­tis and Nestlé, have laun­ched more than one foun­da­tion. The number of corpo­rate foun­da­ti­ons being estab­lished has conti­nued to creep upwards since the 1980s, ‘But the upco­m­ing reces­sion could bring an end to this trend,’ says von Schnurbein. 

Your email address will not be published.

StiftungSchweiz is committed to enabling a modern philanthropy that unites and excites people and has maximum impact with minimal time and effort.

Follow StiftungSchweiz on

The Philanthropist by subscribtion
Benefit now!

225

Entreprises et philanthropie

Les fonda­ti­ons d’entreprise sont à l’interface entre l’entrepreneuriat et l’engagement cari­ta­tif. Il existe actu­el­lement en Suisse envi­ron 225 fonda­ti­ons étroi­te­ment liées à une entreprise.

On entend par fonda­ti­ons d’entreprise des fonda­ti­ons dotées de leur propre person­nalité juri­di­que et fondées par une entre­prise pour l’exercice d’activités phil­an­thro­pi­ques. Elles opèrent donc dans une véri­ta­ble zone de tension. En effet, les entre­pri­ses sont centrées sur le profit tandis que les fonda­ti­ons pour­suiv­ent un objec­tif cari­ta­tif. Créer une fonda­tion équiv­aut pour les socié­tés commer­cia­les à jeter un pont en direc­tion de la société civile: elles souhai­tent ainsi instau­rer un climat de confi­ance et assu­mer leur «responsa­bi­lité socié­tale d’entreprise» (Corpo­rate Social Respon­si­bi­lity). En exter­na­li­sant une partie de leurs béné­fices dans une fonda­tion, les entre­pri­ses font état de leur volonté de s’engager à long terme envers la société. Il est en outre géné­ra­le­ment plus facile pour les fonda­ti­ons d’entreprise d’entrer en contact avec d’autres OSBL.

Diffé­ren­ces de taille et d’objectifs

Il existe actu­el­lement en Suisse envi­ron 225 fonda­ti­ons d’entreprise. «Toutes les formes de fonda­ti­ons étroi­te­ment liées à des entre­pri­ses en font partie», expli­que le profes­seur Georg von Schnur­bein, direc­teur du Center für Phil­an­thropy Studies (CEPS) de l’Université de Bâle. «La fonda­tion peut être créée par l’entreprise ou être proprié­taire de l’entreprise.» Il est diffi­cile d’en évaluer le nombre. D’une part, le secteur suisse des fonda­ti­ons est important et dyna­mi­que; chaque année, de nouvel­les fonda­ti­ons sont consti­tuées et d’autres liqui­dées. D’autre part, les fonda­ti­ons d’entreprise se distin­guent les unes des autres, parfois de manière considé­ra­ble, quant à leur taille, leur objec­tif et leurs rela­ti­ons envers la société mère: l’orientation théma­tique peut être proche de celle de l’entreprise ou en être sciem­ment très éloignée.

Répu­ta­tion et marketing

Les raisons qui condui­sent une entre­prise à créer une fonda­tion cari­ta­tive peuvent être multi­ples. «Dans le cas de figure le plus simple, la créa­tion de la fonda­tion est moti­vée par des considé­ra­ti­ons de répu­ta­tion et de marke­tings», précise G. von Schnur­bein. Dans certains cas, la fonda­tion est instru­men­ta­li­sée par l’entreprise lorsque ses acti­vi­tés sont proches du cœur de métier de cette dernière et que des effets de syner­gie existent pour les deux parties. C’est par exemple le cas de la Fonda­tion Syngenta pour l’agriculture dura­ble du fabri­cant de produits phyto­sa­ni­taires Syngenta ou de la Hear the World Foun­da­tion, créée par le groupe Sonova, fabri­cant d’appareils audi­tifs, qui souti­ent des enfants du monde entier atteints de pertes audi­tives. Mais il existe égale­ment des fonda­ti­ons acti­ves dans un tout autre domaine que l’entreprise. C’est souvent le cas dans le secteur finan­cier: les banques telles que Credit Suisse ou UBS promeu­vent via leurs fonda­ti­ons des projets cultu­rels, soci­aux et scien­ti­fi­ques. Dans l’industrie phar­maceu­tique, les fonda­ti­ons de recher­che peuvent garan­tir leur indé­pen­dance scien­ti­fi­que grâce à leur forme juridique.

Les fonda­ti­ons d’entreprise existent dans tous les secteurs, mais sont plutôt créées par de gran­des entre­pri­ses. Certai­nes, comme Novar­tis ou Nestlé, ont créé plusieurs fonda­ti­ons. Depuis les années 1980, le nombre de fonda­ti­ons créées par des entre­pri­ses est en augmen­ta­tion constante. «La réces­sion qui s’annonce pour­rait mettre un terme à cette tendance», ajoute G. von Schnurbein.

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.

StiftungSchweiz encourage une philanthropie qui atteint plus avec moins de moyens, qui est visible et perceptible par tous, et qui apporte de la joie.

Suivez StiftungSchweiz sur

The Philanthropist par abonnement
Profitez-en maintenant !